Index     FAQ      Search

It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:26 am




Reply to topic  [ 123 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 My Marine Tank 
Author Message
 Post subject: My Marine Tank
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 8:15 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
The new tank has finally arrived today. 6 x 2 x 2 with a 4ft sump.

This will be a sumped tropical setup the tank has 2 x weirs and 2 returns and opti white glass back and weirs are black i may eventually convert to full marine hence the tank being setup for it.

Here is a couple of pictures.

Image

It moved into its place

Image

It's got to come out to have all the pipework plumbed in but that's to be done soon I have picked up a few items for the system so far.

Ozone generator

Image

Reactor

Image

And a pump to run the reactor and a filter sock

Image

The plumbing fittings and pipe has been ordered so once that is here can get it all plumbed in. This may take a while to get it all together but I'm in no rush hopefully the fish will like there new home :)

Cheers
Marty


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquariam
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 8:30 pm 
Forum Senior

User avatar

Joined:
Mon Nov 26, 2012 4:46 pm
Posts:
477
Location:
Worcestershire
That looks a nice bit of kit Marty. :thumbup:

They are quite calming to watch swimming about. 8)

_________________
1992 Rover 220 GTi - Flame Red

1994 Rover 216 Coupe - Polynesian Turquoise

2006 Opel Tigra 1.8 Exclusiv - Antigua Blue


Image


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquariam
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 11:05 pm 
Forum Senior

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:33 pm
Posts:
481
Location:
Rainham, Kent
awesome.... just awesome! what fish you going for? species wise?

_________________
Image
Image
-Lotus Elise 111
-2001 MG ZS MK1 Turbo

You Can't Spell Dangerous Without Dan ;)


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquariam
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 11:48 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
I will move my current freshwater tropical fish into there and see how it goes.

Got some pictures of the sump/filter underneath

Image

Image

Image


Still a lot of work to do before its up and running but will be worth it


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquariam
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 11:55 pm 
RT GOD

User avatar

Joined:
Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:17 pm
Posts:
7680
Location:
At the bridge, with Horatius.
I like that and it looks like you know what you're doing but you can't spell aquarium :whistle:

_________________
Image

Stella now gone, Ruby is my baby now.
For your photography needs, try
http://www.freelancephotographic.net


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquariam
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:05 am 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
I'm not known for my spelling skills haha


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:11 am 
Rovertech Veteran

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:47 am
Posts:
925
Location:
Goudhurst, Kent
Nice. That'll work nicely as a marine setup.

_________________
Cheers

Stu

Image

See my 1.8 k-turbo project: http://www.rovertech.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=147320


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 1:55 pm 
RT GOD


Joined:
Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:51 pm
Posts:
5602
Location:
Darlington NORTH EAST
impressive,
can you explain the sumps underneath?


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:54 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
It's basically has different chambers it's the systems filter. It's gravity fed into the sump first it goes through a filter sock to remove large debris then it moves onto the biological filtration where the good bacteria turns ammonia into a less harmful substanc to the fish its via the reactor and the media in there this is called the nitrogen cycle then the water is pulled into a ozone reactor that then pulls micro particles out of the water due to molecular reactions which give it crystal clear water and then onto a carbon reactor to remove any surplus ozone that's in the water and then moves to the end tank to be pumped back to main tank and the tumbling in there also ads oxygen to the water. The heaters are also in there one where it enters the sump and one where it exits this keeps the main display tank clutter free. I may also ad a UV but ill see how it goes once up and running. That's the basics behind it.


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 7:26 pm 
RT GOD

User avatar

Joined:
Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:17 pm
Posts:
7680
Location:
At the bridge, with Horatius.
I wish I had the time for a marine setup. I knew a guy who had a massive marine tank, he had to get his suspended timber floor strengthened to stand the weight. I think he said the tank plus base weighed quite a lot over 2 tons (bearing that a 1m x 1m x 1m tank will hold a ton of water. He had many types of fish and shrimp and a few sea horses too. He also had a seperate tank with a Lion fish in as he said it would eat everything else.
I understand a marine tank is very difficult to maintain and the slightest water variation is pretty much deadly to a lot of fish.

_________________
Image

Stella now gone, Ruby is my baby now.
For your photography needs, try
http://www.freelancephotographic.net


Last edited by BlueRover on Thu Nov 06, 2014 12:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 7:47 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
Yeah marine is hard work that lot weighs some as it has over 700 litres of water in the system


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:09 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
Done a little bit this evening started mounting some items and have started the plumbing it's all got to be tidied up and pipework supported yet it's just layed in place

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Hopefully get the water in within next couple of days :)


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 7:52 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
Got it all plumbed in and running yesterday evening but this morning woke up to a flood :(

Image

The sump decided to crack from end to end that's a 50" crack 20 towels and a mop later it's looking better in the living room :(

Why would this of happend nothing was dropped in there everything was placed in gently and all that was in the sump was 3 pumps all on sucker pads a heater on side attached with suckers and the reactor on the side also my old media from my old filter consisting of sponges and biohome ultra.

To say I'm not impressed is an understatement I'm hoping the manufacturer will just replace it as there was clearly a defect somewhere :(


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 9:53 pm 
Rovertech Veteran

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:47 am
Posts:
925
Location:
Goudhurst, Kent
Ah that sucks mate. Hope they sort it out. Is the crack in the base?

_________________
Cheers

Stu

Image

See my 1.8 k-turbo project: http://www.rovertech.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=147320


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 9:58 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
Yeah basically the full length of sump and thats 50 inches across we got away quite lightly even though it took and this is no exaggeration 20 bath towels and a mop to clear up so I'm not to amused and how the wood flooring did not lift I don't know we have had the heating on full blast all day to help dry things out. So now I sit here looking at an empty steamed up tank :(


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 10:37 am 
Rovertech Moderator

Rovertech Moderator

Joined:
Mon Nov 29, 2004 8:42 pm
Posts:
32552
Location:
Northants
Tank bottoms usually crack if the case it's sitting on isn't sufficiently flat. The usual layer of polystyrene helps take little irregularities, but can only do so much, so I'd be looking at the shelf it's on.

Another possibility is a foreign object trapped between the tank bottom and what its sitting on?

_________________
Anthony | 1997 800 Vitesse Coupe, 1985 SD1 Vitesse


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 10:46 am 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
It's sitting on a big bit of polystyrene / foam

Here is a better pic you can see it underneath it's grey

Image


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:57 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
The customer service from the company has been excellent a new sump will be here tomorrow :)


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:11 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
New sump has been fitted

It's up and running so far so good :)

Image

Image

Image

Excuse the decor it's not been arranged yet


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:50 pm 
RT GOD

User avatar

Joined:
Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:05 pm
Posts:
3412
Location:
Down north
:thumbup:

_________________
Image


White L reg 214 Sold :bye:
Green K reg 216 gti Sold :bye:
Red L reg 220 gsi Sold :bye:
Green L reg 220 gsi turbo Sold And Missed :bye:
Red/pink k reg 220 gti turbo bye :bye:
Next r8. On the prowl


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:55 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
Added some of the scaping it may change yet but I'm presently at this stage

Image

Image

Image

Image

The gap to left is to allow for another bit of bogwood from my other tank.

I feel like I'm actually getting somewhere now :)


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 11:40 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
The sump let go again

Image

Image



From this

Image

To this

Image

Words can't honestly describe how I feel at minute and evacuating nearly 800 litres is not a quick job I hear a loud bang then the water just came spewing out of cupboard :(

The brother inlaw came by he has marine and first thing he said is the sump glass is to thin for that size setup it's 5mm he said needs to be 10mm minimum. I've sent an email I await the response on morning :(


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:05 am 
Rovertech Moderator

Rovertech Moderator

Joined:
Mon Nov 29, 2004 8:42 pm
Posts:
32552
Location:
Northants
Definitely something not right there...

_________________
Anthony | 1997 800 Vitesse Coupe, 1985 SD1 Vitesse


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:16 am 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
I think the lower part of base unit is warped or something


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:02 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
They are trying to blame my floor !!! Not happy


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:56 pm 
RT GOD

User avatar

Joined:
Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:09 pm
Posts:
8842
Location:
Newcastle
Bloody hell this is turning in to a pi$$ take and if its their product not up to job whats the crack with some compen for flooding your house..... twice.....

_________________
ImageImage

Thread
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=121423


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:06 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
After having a lengthy conversation with them on the phone we have come to an amicable agreement they are going to replace the base unit and sump and also they are going to fit metal framework to the cabinet with adjustable legs. They are being helpful which does cheer me up and they have said they just want to get this right for me and they are very sorry for the inconvenience I have had.

They are also going to send two blokes who will site the tank and adjust it all I will then have to just plumb it up.

I am happy with the outcome of what they say they are going to do and at least they are trying to help which does go a long way with customer service and I now cannot fault them on that so ill keep you all posted and fingers crossed this is the end of my sump issues.


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:50 pm 
RT GOD

User avatar

Joined:
Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:09 pm
Posts:
8842
Location:
Newcastle
Well it all sounds like a positive solution so hopefully itll all be sorted :thumbup:

_________________
ImageImage

Thread
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=121423


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 7:04 pm 
Rovertech Veteran

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:47 am
Posts:
925
Location:
Goudhurst, Kent
At least it's getting sorted.

How tall is the sump? That is generally what governs required glass thickness. I only had 10mm on my 2foot deep marine setup. It does sound like the base of the cabinet is warped.

_________________
Cheers

Stu

Image

See my 1.8 k-turbo project: http://www.rovertech.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=147320


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 7:32 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
It's 50 x 18 x 17 the sump I have requested it's 10mm base not 6mm


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:33 pm 
Rovertech Veteran

User avatar

Joined:
Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:47 am
Posts:
925
Location:
Goudhurst, Kent
Marty wrote:
It's 50 x 18 x 17 the sump I have requested it's 10mm base not 6mm

Should do the job. Annoying when you have these problems but better now than when is stocked.

_________________
Cheers

Stu

Image

See my 1.8 k-turbo project: http://www.rovertech.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=147320


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:50 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
Anoying in its more then that being flooded twice in 3 days due to sump cracking and having to evacuating around 1600 litres of water between the 2 floods I will be replacing the floor as the wood flooring has warped and lifted


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 6:17 pm 
Rovertech Moderator

Rovertech Moderator

Joined:
Mon Nov 29, 2004 8:42 pm
Posts:
32552
Location:
Northants
Marty wrote:
They are trying to blame my floor !!! Not happy


They're right to consider it as a possibility as the cause can only be one of two things: 1) the base was made wonky 2) The base was straight but distorted under the weight of the filling tanks as it wasn't evenly supported by the floor.

I imagine they'll be carefully checking the replacement :lol:

_________________
Anthony | 1997 800 Vitesse Coupe, 1985 SD1 Vitesse


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:13 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
I put a level on my floor and it's a tiny bit out sloping one way.

The cabinet however is like a pyramid it slopes down from either side with high bit in centre on lower part that puts that at centre of lower sump the top section with main tank on has the slight slope with floor which is minimal.


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
 Post subject: Re: My New Aquarium
PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:27 pm 
Bronze Trader

User avatar
Bronze Trader

Joined:
Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:02 pm
Posts:
11250
Location:
Norwich
The replacement sump arrived today has 10mm base glass and they also fitted a new base to the cabinet and a steel frame to support the cabinet underneath with adjustable feet so far so good.

Image

Image

Image


Offline
  Profile Feedback  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 123 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next


 Who is online 

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

 
Index  |  FAQ  |  Search

Content © Rovertech - Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group